Meet Eric!

Hello! My name is Eric, and I am the Executive Director of FlashFood. It is a pleasure to meet you!

 

The smiling couple above is my wife, Loni, and I at our wedding in August of 2012 (we were married one month Monday!). Loni is also a FlashFood team member, but we didn’t meet in FlashFood – it was Spanish class, in fact – though she was an unofficial consultant to the team before we had even decided to focus on food recovery.

In May, I graduated from ASU with a degree in Biomedical Engineering, and I am currently getting a Master of Science in the same, also from ASU. How did an engineer like me end up on a project like FlashFood? Short answer: an (incredible, perhaps life-changing) elective class. Long answer: a course that asks engineers to use their creative skills to address social problems, coupled with a love for working on teams with sharp, driven people, and a desire to serve others, founded in an upbringing in a home and church environment of community service (and good food!).

When I’m not at the FlashFood office or working on my Master’s thesis, I enjoy hiking, eating Loni’s cuisine, sampling craft microbrews, playing strategy boardgames, and traveling (see my Spain study abroad blog here).

I want to say thank you to everyone who supports our mission. I think FlashFood is a great idea. I believe that, together, we will have a measurable impact on the lives of those living in our communities.

My best regards,

Eric

Leave a Reply

